Listing Information

Number of Workers Sought


Type of Farm

Hay & Forage, Large Animal (cattle, sheep, goats), Small Animal (pigs, rabbits, poultry), Dairy, Vegetable, Fruit/Orchard, Other

Marketing Strategy

Farmers' Market, Wholesale, Other

Marketing Strategy (Other)


Currently Hiring

No, not at this time. Please check back next season!



What are the dates of your position?

all year

Are you open to shorter periods of employment or do you prefer that workers stay the full season?

Shorter periods of employment possible, Prefer full season



Explain the room and board arrangements or describe options in your area

We are a couple in our thirties and live in a small house with our two little kiddos. We’re looking for one person or a couple who is interested in learning about and contributing to a small farm with strong values centered around good food. We have a rad 1958 camper available for housing with a full-size bed. Kitchen, bathroom, and washer are located next to the camper in our hay barn.

Please share three things you think people should know about living with you.

We are family-centric and our kids always take priority over the farm, which is why we are choosing to remain at the small-scale level for the next few years. We are anti-racist and queer-friendly and require that interns be the same. Katie’s parents also live on the farm in a separate house.

Describe yourself, your family, background, farming experience, philosophy, goals and interests

We’ve been on this land for 6 years, and our plan is to keep things small scale while our kids are young. Larry studied food and farming in school and Katie’s background is in local food system development. We are not certified organic yet but manage our livestock, vegetables, and herbs with organic standards. We’re not here to work ourselves (or potential interns) to the bone. We spend a lot of time figuring out the life we want to create for our family and work our way towards that at varying paces.

Describe the physical setting of your farm and the nature of the community in which you live

We’re on 40 acres consisting mostly of pasture at the base of the foothills of the Mission Mountain Tribal Wilderness on the Flathead Indian Reservation. We’re just a short walk from Mission Reservoir, close to the National Bison Range, two hours from Glacier NP, 4 hours from Yellowstone NP, one hour north of Missoula. Outdoor recreation activities are fairly limitless in this area. There are a number of young farmers in the Mission Valley that also host interns, so there is no shortage of good people to spend time with.

Describe your farm operation

Though we have 40 acres, most everything we do is small-scale (fruit, veg, tea, flowers, dairy, sourdough, beef and eggs). We’re working our way to a silvopasture/savannah system, having planted two thousand fruit and nut trees, as well as hedgerow trees, and extensive fencing. We have a milk cow and a beef cow and usually one or two calves for beef, who are also rotationally grazed. Anywhere between 0-40 pastured laying hens, and sometimes a few turkeys. We have a mobile high tunnel and are currently building a larger drying shed for our tea and herbs, and will be building a greenhouse this Spring.

Describe the work to be performed by applicant

All work will be shared, but it will consist of day-to-day farm activities including milking our cow, feeding and rotating animals, tree maintenance, vegetable work, processing herbs, and helping with projects as they arise.

What do you expect of a worker?

We're open to 20-40 hours/week. We want to find the right person, so we are very flexible on schedule, days, hours, etc.

Describe the learning and educational opportunities available to a worker

Larry is a natural teacher and knowledgeable about raising livestock, growing food, making sourdough products, and other farming and building skills. We also have a collection of farming/homesteading books that you would have access too. Your time would be split between working alone and with Larry. We're happy to share as much as you'd like to know about our operation.

Are you a full-time farmer?


Describe what other occupation(s) you have

Larry is on the farm full-time (with our kiddos when they’re not in school) and Katie works part-time off farm at a Missoula non-profit.

Trial Period Description

It's not required, but we'd prefer to work with interested candidates for a day or two before making a decision.

Please attach any photos of your farm and operation

Do you have a website, social media account, or job posting anywhere else?


Pay Rate

It depends! We just want to find a person that is a good fit. We are open to a variety of options, full-time or part-time. For part-time, we wouldn't pay, but housing and farm food would be provided. For full-time, housing and farm food would be provided + a weekly stipend TBD.

Online Listing URL

Type of Farm (Other)

herbs for tea and culinary blends, some medicinal