Listing Information

Check all experience and education that apply to you and your farming partners

Farm/Crop management (3 years or less), General farming (less than 3 years)

Briefly describe your current occupation(s) and responsibilities and list previous agricultural employment and experiences. If you are currently farming or ranching, please state the size, type(s), and location of the operation.

I am currently an out of work oil field employee. I have been helping out with relatives farming operations for the last few years in my free time, and decided I want to do it for myself full time. They have around 2,000 acres and a little over 200 cattle. I enjoy running a tractor 12 hours a day, swathing, baling, summer fallow, planting, anything really. And I like working with cattle. I'm in Indonesia at the moment. I came over to explore farming opportunities but I love living in Montana, and I'm ready to move back and do something I like.

Counties

Custer, Fallon, Garfield, McCone, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Yellowstone

Acreage

101-500, 500+

Type of Operation

Hay & Forage, Grain, Large Animal (cattle, sheep, goats), Small Animal (pigs, rabbits, poultry)

Farming Practices

Conventional, Organic, Other

Please elaborate on the type(s) of agricultural operation you plan on running.

I'd like to have a diverse operation. My approach is going to be I'm a hay and grain farmer, and not get stuck in the number of head I have. I'd like to always maintain cattle, but be flexible with the numbers, depending on market prices for hay. I'll go year by year, and if it makes more sense to have my cattle eat the hay, thats what I'll do, if it makes more sense for me to sell the hay, then I'll do that. I can't control the prices, only the costs I put in, so I want to be as efficient as possible to maximize any sort of profit. I'm also open to suggestions.

Elaborate on the farming practices you plan on using.

It depends on the land, but I'd like to employ intensive rotational grazing, and minimize or completely eliminate spraying chemicals for weeds or fertilizer. If possible, I would use manure and green manure to try and keep land fertile and weeds to a minimum. I'd prefer to not have as little fallow land as possible. I also realize there are limitations to how much one person can get done in a day, but I like to squeeze any minute out of a day I can get.

Transition Arrangements

Buy/Sell, Cropshare, Lease, Partnership

Onsite Housing

Yes

Please elaborate on the kind of additional training/information that would help you:

I've only been exposed to a couple of ways of doing things with farming/ranching, so anything that helps in that regard is appreciated.

Location