Listing Information

Check all experience and education that apply to you and your farming partners

Agriculture-related college degree, Farm/Crop management (over 3 years), Informal apprenticeship, General college degree, General farming (over 3 years), Other experience/license/agriculture or business training

Other experience/license/agriculture or business training:

I work for Western Cider, a farm-to-glass cidery, as the Tasting Room Manager. I also own my own farm & soup business that has been evolving over the past several years. Currently, I am business planning and searching for land for this farm-to-soup venture. I was employed as the Caretaker at the Garden City Harvest PEAS Farm, a nonprofit educational farm, for two years while I completed my graduate school work in Sustainable Food & Farming. I also served as a teaching assistant for PEAS for a full season of University classes at that farm. I've completed commercial variety trials for FedCo Seeds. I've worked on a variety of small-scale vegetable farms throughout the western Montana region as a seasonal employee or a day laborer.

Briefly describe your current occupation(s) and responsibilities and list previous agricultural employment and experiences. If you are currently farming or ranching, please state the size, type(s), and location of the operation.

Currently, I am the Tasting Room Manager for Western Cider as my full-time employment. In addition, I have been renting about 1/2 acre of land on which I grow mixed vegetables and flowers. In 2016, I sold these items direct at farmer's markets and to friends. In 2017, I completed a season of market-research on soup products direct to markets. Currently, I am selling garlic, flowers, and catering events with soups.

I have 8 seasons of farming experience under my belt in various roles and on various western Montana vegetable farms. I first farmed at Clark Fork Organics in Missoula, then spent three seasons as a teaching assistant and the Garden City Harvest PEAS Caretaker at the PEAS farm in Missoula. In 2015, I incubated my business in Hamilton, MT at an organic farm while traveling from Hamilton up through St. Ignatius to day-labor at several other produce farms in the area. In 2016, I began gardening for myself on about 1/2 acre between two rented sites. My experience is varied among educational and commercial operations from less than 1/2 acre to 15+ acres in production. I have done year-round farm planning and business management through my farm and employment experiences.

Counties of interest

Granite, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Powell, Ravalli, Sanders


1-5, 6-10, 11-40

Planned Operation

Small Animal (pigs, rabbits, poultry), Vegetable, Fruit/Orchard

Farming Practices

Organic, Other

Please elaborate on the type(s) of agricultural operation you plan on running.

I would like to do small-acreage vegetable and flower production and am interested in managing orchard space, though I have more limited experience doing so. My ultimate goal is to sell my produce, and that of other regional growers, in soups that are available year-round throughout Western Montana. I envision this value-added farm business as a support to our current food system, filling a niche for farmers who need to off-load produce seconds and for cafes, institutions, and busy home-owners who want a healthful, quick product that meets their values of eating locally and organically. I am happiest when providing my community wholesome and delicious food grown by myself and other farming friends.

Elaborate on the farming practices you plan on using.

Homegrown/sustainable, if not certified organic.

Land Tenure

Buy/Sell, Cropshare, Open to other arrangements

If you are interested in another type of business arrangement, please explain

I would also be open to being employed by a land-owner and growing some for that owner and some for my own business.

Please elaborate on the kind of additional training/information that would help you:

I'd love guidance on certifying organic.

Please attach any photos that support your application.