Listing Information

Check all experience and education that apply to you and your farming partners

Agriculture-related college degree, Farm/Crop management (3 years or less), Informal apprenticeship, General farming (over 3 years)

Briefly describe your current occupation(s) and responsibilities and list previous agricultural employment and experiences. If you are currently farming or ranching, please state the size, type(s), and location of the operation.

Currently, I am a Public Relations representative for Snowville Creamery in Pomeroy, Ohio. Responsibilities include educating customers on our regenerative farming and processing methods, attending local events and being an advocate for local food. I live on a five acre property with my partner, where we manage a small market garden, laying hens and an in-earth greenhouse full of exotic houseplants and hardy native trees and shrubs. I am a college student, studying Agriculture Ecology and Natural Resource Conservation at Hocking College. I graduate in May of 2020 and am looking to relocate to Montana in June 2020, seeking further education in Rangeland and Grassland Conservation Ecology.

Counties of interest

Flathead, Glacier, Lewis & Clark, Mineral, Missoula, Pondera, Powell, Ravalli, Teton, Valley

Acreage

1-5, 6-10

Planned Operation

Hay & Forage, Small Animal (pigs, rabbits, poultry), Vegetable, Fruit/Orchard

Farming Practices

Organic

Please elaborate on the type(s) of agricultural operation you plan on running.

I would like to manage the land organically, improving soil health and minimally tilling.
I would like to manage an annual vegetable and herb market garden, as well as a perennial orchard using guild-planting methods. I would rotate crops regularly, use cover-crops, and plant a variety of grasses and forbs to attract beneficial pollinators. I would also like to raise laying hens for eggs.
Ideally, I would build a relationship with the local community and offer a CSA for vegetables, herbs and eggs. I would also get connected with local farmer's markets, restaurants, and groceries. Potentially, I would raise meat chickens as well, utilizing Joel Salatin's chicken-tractor method. I also have experience and interest in agro-forestry and non-timber forest products; this is something I'm potentially interested in pursuing if I had access to suitable landscape.

Land Tenure

Cropshare, Lease, Partnership, Open to other arrangements

If you are interested in another type of business arrangement, please explain

Open to any and all arrangements.

Onsite Housing

Yes

Please elaborate on the kind of additional training/information that would help you:

As a young, first-generation female farmer with a particular interest in grassland ecology, it would be very helpful to have a mentor with experience that I could reach out to for guidance. I know that I have a lot to learn from those who've dedicated their lives to tending to the land before me.