Listing Information

Counties of interest

Anaconda-Deer Lodge, Beaverhead, Big Horn, Blaine, Broadwater, Butte-Silver Bow, Carbon, Carter, Cascade, Chouteau, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Flathead, Gallatin, Garfield, Glacier, Golden Valley, Granite, Hill, Jefferson, Judith Basin, Lake, Lewis & Clark, Liberty, Lincoln, Madison, McCone, Meagher, Mineral, Missoula, Musselshell, Park Livingston, Petroleum, Phillips, Pondera, Powder River, Powell, Prairie, Ravalli, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sanders, Sheridan, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Teton, Toole, Treasure, Valley, Wheatland, Wibaux, Yellowstone

Planned Operation

Large Animal (cattle, sheep, goats), Small Animal (pigs, rabbits, poultry)

Check all experience and education that apply to you and your farming partners

General college degree, General farming (over 3 years)

Land Tenure

Buy/Sell, Partnership

Briefly describe your current occupation(s) and responsibilities and list previous agricultural employment and experiences. If you are currently farming or ranching, please state the size, type(s), and location of the operation.

I am a law student finishing my 3L year and graduating in December 2020. My husband is currently a car salesman but has worked as a truck driver, owned his own lawn service business, and worked as a welder. I have lived and worked on ranches my entire life and am 33 years old. I currently help my dad with his ranch which has 79 cows. My husband has worked on ranches on and off since he was in high school. My husband and I just bought goats that we will be breeding for meat and milk. My dad's ranch is in Oklahoma and consists of about 120 acres that are used for the cows and a hay meadow that is about 20 acres. We both currently assist with the ranch to include feeding cows both hay and cubes, brush hogging, repairing fences, bottle feeding calves that have been rejected, nursing calves back to health after illness, working cattle to prepare for sale, and hauling cattle to the sale barn. My husband and I both were raised with solid values of always being honest and having integrity. Our dream has been to own an agricultural operation in Montana. We are trying to pursue that dream and know that matching with a current agricultural producer is the best way to do that.

Acreage

41-100, 101-500, 500+

Farming Practices

Conventional, Organic

Please elaborate on the type(s) of agricultural operation you plan on running.

Ideally, I would like to have an agricultural operation comprised of cattle, sheep, goats, and chickens.

If you are interested in another type of business arrangement, please explain

We will have to move after December 2020 and I will have to make arrangements to take the Montana Bar.

Onsite Housing

Yes

Please elaborate on the kind of additional training/information that would help you:

The kind of training that would help us is in sheep, neither of us have worked much with sheep so that will be new a thing for us.