Listing Information

Counties of interest

Carbon, Musselshell, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Yellowstone

Planned Operation

Small Animal (pigs, rabbits, poultry), Dairy, Vegetable, Fruit/Orchard, Other

Check all experience and education that apply to you and your farming partners

General college degree, General farming (over 3 years), Other experience/license/agriculture or business training

Other experience/license/agriculture or business training:

Bachelors Degree in Business, 10 years experience with Government Grants for water management and conservation

Land Tenure

Buy/Sell, Cropshare, Partnership, Open to other arrangements

Briefly describe your current occupation(s) and responsibilities and list previous agricultural employment and experiences. If you are currently farming or ranching, please state the size, type(s), and location of the operation.

Currently I work full time on Government grants however I am dying to get out of the office and onto a small piece of land. I have a Business degree that could be useful however I'm leaning toward creating a self-sustaining homestead for my family. I grew up in Shepherd/Huntley/Worden where we had Horses, cows and a pig. There was enough land to bail our own hay which was rewarding and labor intensive. We rode our horses to school when mom wasn't working and I hope to share that experience with my kids. I have never worked in farming or ranching in the sense of being paid but I do have the experience. The first property was on 2.5 acres and then moved up to 20 acres. As kids we were responsible for taking care of the animals while the parents were at work, feeding, grooming, riding, mucking stalls and even experiencing the birth of a colt. We moved back to Billings in 6th Grade. I currently have a house in Billings with a large backyard. I've have a garden as well as indoor Hydroponics. I have a compost bin, rain barrels and an Apple tree. I've built several raised beds. I've helped friends on their farms. I'm also a WWOOF Member.

Acreage

1-5, 6-10

Farming Practices

Conventional, Organic

Please elaborate on the type(s) of agricultural operation you plan on running.

Ideally, I'm looking for a small piece of property (3-10 acres) to purchase with a house on the land for myself and the 2 kids. I would like to work in a garden (no till) a high tunnel, raise chickens and a dairy cow. I've been learning about the Joel Salatan method of farming and creating a symbiotic relationship with the animals and the land, working toward organic practices. Once I've established with the basics I could quite my desk job and build the business to produce enough for distribution. Sells would include, organic eggs, meat chickens, pork, piglets, fruits/vegetables and a range of homemade items such as leaf lard for tallow, canned, dehydrated or freeze dried foods, and herbs. I don't see there being a limit to the possibilities so its hard to say if or what more there could be.

Please elaborate on the kind of additional training/information that would help you:

I always say, "you don't know what you don't know." This is where I believe I'm at. I want to know what mistakes you've made and how you would avoid them in the future. What do you wish you would have known when you started? How much money should I have saved before getting in full time?

Please attach any photos that support your application.