Production planning covers all of the details surrounding how your farm operation will produce products for market. This can include considering the production capacity of your land, the varietals or breeds you select for your climate and production practices, the types of equipment, buildings, and facilities you have or need, your production practices, and more. While the best tools for planning are personal experience, either from your own farm or working on similar farms nearby your land, there are a number of state and national resources that can help you work through the various things you should consider.

One of the most important things (if not the most important thing) you will need to consider is your land. Check out our resources on land access and evaluation to learn about resources that can help you evaluate your land’s soil, water, and other attributes.

For a variety of agricultural statistics, contact the USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service, which partners with a variety of organizations to provide timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to US Agriculture.


MSU Extension Resources

Pesticide Safety and Education

Cecil Tharp: Pesticide Safety
ctharp@montana.edu


Land Resources and Environmental Sciences

Jane Mangold: Rangeland and Invasive Weed Management
jane.mangold@montana.edu

Clain Jones: Soil Fertility
clainj@montana.edu

Fabian Menalled: Cropland Weeds
menalled@montana.edu


Schutter Diagnostic Lab

Laurie Kerzicnik: Entomology-horticulture
lauren.kerzicnik@montana.edu

Mary Burrows: Plant Pathology-agronomy
mburrows@montana.edu

Eva Grimme: Plant Pathology-horticulture
eva.grimme@montana.edu

Kevin Wanner: Entomology-Agronomy
kwanner@montana.edu

Noelle Orloff: Plant ID
noelleorloff@montana.edu